Skip to main content

Can I disable allocation gifting and release on a user level?

This article explains how to enable or disable allocation gifting and release on a user level.

Yes, if allocation gifting and allocation release are enabled on a site level, it can be controlled at a user level using User Groups and user metadata uploaded by CSV.

A common use case for this is when you have multiple users with permanent allocations, but only want salary sacrifice drivers to be able to gift and/or release their bays.

How to set it up for the first time

To disable allocation gifting and/or allocation release for specific users:

  • Go to the User Group tab under Configuration.

  • Click the plus icon and select Add Group.

  • Enter a group name and save it (we recommend using 'Disable Gifting and Releasing Allocation').

  • Click on the recently created user group and select 'Upload CSV' on the top right side of the screen.

CSV format

Your CSV should include these 3 columns:

  • Identifier = the user’s email address

  • Allocation Gifting = enter Disabled if you want gifting turned off for that user, or leave blank if you want it enabled

  • Allocation Release = enter Disabled if you want release turned off for that user, or leave blank if you want it enabled

identifier

Allocation Gifting

Allocation Release

Driver email

Disabled

Upload settings

When uploading the CSV:

  • select 'Add uploaded users to group'

  • tick 'Allocation Gifting'

  • tick 'Allocation Release'

  • click 'Upload Users'

Managing allocation gifting or allocation release

If the user group has already been set up, there are 3 ways to re-enable or disable allocation gifting or allocation release for a user or multiple users.

Option 1: Upload a new CSV

If managing multiple users, upload a new CSV with the user's email addresses and update the relevant column:

  • leave the field blank to enable the functionality

  • enter Disabled to disable it

Important: You can upload the same user more than once. The most recent value uploaded for Allocation Gifting and Allocation Release is the value that will apply to that user.

Option 2: Add a user manually in the User Group

You can also update an individual user manually within the user group:

  1. Select Add User

  2. Enter the user’s identifier

  3. Choose whether Allocation Gifting and/or Allocation Release should be enabled or disabled

  4. Click Add User

Option 3: Update the user directly from User Search

You can also manage these settings directly from the user’s profile:

  1. Go to User Search

  2. Search for the user by email

  3. Open their profile

  4. Update the Allocation Gifting or Allocation Release fields to either Disabled or - to enable them

  5. Press 'Save'

Troubleshooting missing gifting or release access

If a user should have access to gift or release an allocation but does not, the best way to troubleshoot this is to go to their profile and review the Allocation Gifting and Allocation Release fields.

If needed, update the fields directly to make sure the correct setting is applied.

Did this answer your question?